Karnataka Government Crisis

The people of Karnataka elected a hung assembly in May 2018 and here’s a brief timeline of the entire crisis spanning over an year:

On May 12, 2018 72.36% of eligible voters cast their vote in Karnataka assembly elections.

On counting day BJP emerges as the largest party with 104 seats, falling short of a majority, and Congress and Janata Dal (S) won 78 and 38, respectively. A hung assembly

The tussle between the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) combine began on May 15 when governor Valubhai Vala invited BS Yeddyurappa to be sworn in as the new chief minister of Karnataka.

B S Yeddyurappa former chief minister of the state, announced later that he will be taking take the oath on Thursday, May 17th. Congress-JD(S) coalition however challenged the governor’s decision, as together they have 115 MLAs on their side, vis-à-vis BJP’s 104.

Congress and JD(S) file a petition, seek an urgent mid-night hearing from the top court

The Supreme Court is opened at midnight for the extraordinary hearing. The hearing begins in the Supreme Court at 2:10am and Supreme court decides not to stay the swearing-in of Yeddyurappa and asks him to submit BJP’s letter to the Governor by Friday, May 18th.

However on May 19: At 4 pm, Mr. Yeddyurappa says “I will not face confidence vote; I am going to resign”. And HD kumarasamy takes oath as chief minister of the state as leader of the third largest party with congress.

However now after an year of kumarasamy government in July 2019:

Sixteen MLAs, including Housing Minister M T B Nagaraj, have resigned and two Independent legislators — R Shankar and H Nagesh — have withdrawn support to the Congress-JD(S) coalition government. If the resignations are accepted by the Speaker, the strength of the coalition will fall to 101 compared to the BJP’s 105 plus two Independents clearing the way for the BJP to seek a trust vote and form the government.